Crave

Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.

Romans 12:9-13

Moment of truth: I don’t read my Bible every day.

Oh great, another little formula saying one must read this and do that and give this every so often to be alright. Indeed not. I think that the days, the hours, the moments one should read the Bible are different for each person in his or her different seasons of life. But I have to admit, there are sometimes days that pass between each reading. Dare I say it, at times weeks. And I never feel good when I do.

I’ve just been thinking, if I claim the truth of this Word as my life source, then how could I go even one day without it lest I feel weak? I want to crave it like I crave food. I want something inside of me to grumble when I am in need of its nourishment. I want its sweet taste to draw me in and make me think about it at random times of the day.

I want that to be the one thing I can look forward to in any given day. My very wise father told me once that during nights that he can’t get a wink of sleep, that he knows, if nothing else, that he can get up in the morning and spend time in the Word before the day starts. What a man.

Lord, I ask for forgiveness for the times I have excused time with you for a rushed morning or a lazy day. Give me a hunger for your Word. I pray that everyday I might wake up and be still before you, humbled and willing to listen. I pray these things for myself and anyone else who feels the same way. Thank you for your relentless grace. Amen.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Encouragement, personal

Leave a Reply

