|riˈvīv| good.

Date Taken: February 11, 2010     Title: Good     Location: Windshield

Thoughts for today: Psalm 84:11. One of the hardest things to understand when facing difficult times, yet one of the best to trust in the midst of them.

Today I had lunch with a little girl at a local elementary school through their lunch buddy program. I wasn’t sure how it would go, meeting her for the first time ever and spending half an hour talking to her over lunch. It was by far the best part of this day. I headed over to the school, fairly tired and just having finished a World Civilizations quiz in a long 8 A.M. class period. Let’s just say I didn’t have quite enough energy to keep up good enthusiastic conversation, especially for a kid. This little girl in third grade held conversation better than any boy or girl her age that I’ve ever come across. She told me how she likes fashion and likes to draw dresses and outfits. She also told me how she would sometimes use her own clothes and cut them up to make new clothes or accessories. She said she likes to draw a lot and do just crafty things in general. And get this. Her dream when she grows up is to live in Nashville and own a shop where she can sell the clothes that she designs and makes. She and I get along just fine. While our backgrounds are so different, our interests are so alike. As far as her craftiness, she reminds me a lot of myself when I was her age. I walked out of the school singing. It was an overcast, rainy, and extremely freezing cold day. Yet before I could even think about what I was doing, I walked out singing, “Oh what a beautiful day, what a beautiful way that you have saved me.” I know those are the wrong lyrics but we’ll just have to get over that for now. Can’t wait for next Tuesday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

