“The Spoils of Warring Hearts”

“We fall in love sometimes and hold on too tight, while everything we hold on to is taking our lives. You were the only one who loves me this way; you were the only one strong enough to take what I thought I needed.

A thing I owned was found misplaced, ruined from the start: misdirected awe among the spoils of warring hearts, inside a bag of artifacts I’ve pulled from towers tall, built to serve a selfish name until God crushed them all. He said…

Hold on; hold on to me. I am all. I am everything you will, everything you could ever need. Hold on; hold on to me. Soon enough, oh, you will see. I swear you’ll see me. Hold on; hold on to me. I am here now, and you will be set free.”

These are lyrics from the song “The Spoils of Warring Hearts” by The Walla Recovery. I love the way it describes how we so easily try to take things as our own, whether it be someone we love, something we love to do, or something that is of special importance to us, when in reality these are things that are the Lord’s and his alone. The Father is so good and blesses us with things that truly are more wonderful than we deserve. When we take these and use them for our own benefit or try to control them ourselves, it is a tragedy and lost opportunity to glorify our Lord and King.

“Hold on to me. I am all. I am everything you will, everything you could ever need.” What good news we have to hold on to. Any time we are tempted to think we need something other than God and his grace, we must realize that this is a lie. He is certainly all we need and he will hold on to us forever. He deserves our trust and he alone deserves our love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

