I’m lying when I tell myself I have to be the best.

The saying, “You are your own worst critic” is spot on with me. One thing that I absolutely love is when I find photographers that I like…I mean really love. But the thing with that is they are all way more experienced than I am. Usually the photographers I love are ones with similar style as mine that I would like to some day be as good as. So a lot of times rather than purely getting inspiration and learning from them, I compare myself to them …which is bad I know. But its really hard not to do that, especially with people who are the same age as me or younger. I was listening to a song by Jenny and Tyler and heard the phrase “I’m lying when I tell myself I have to be the best” and it really hit me. I do tell myself that. And I am totally feeding myself lies when I do. Colossians 2:8-10 says, “See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ. For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.”

I have been given fullness in Christ! KJV says I am “complete” in him. I don’t need to do anything to impress him and have absolutely no need to be the best. What a relief! If I am truly doing this through the power of the Holy Spirit and for the glory of God alone through Jesus Christ, then I should not be worrying about being the best or even being better than others. So now, I can throw off all my selfish desires to be on top and passionately pursue photography purely as a gift to my Lord and Savior. As an offering of praise and worship. As a service to show others his beautiful love. Oh, what a lovely picture already…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m lying when I tell myself I have to be the best.

  1. Nelle

    So true – and I really relate to this. The “tension and thrill” between striving for excellence and putting your trust in your own ability to be excellent. A fine balance. Let me know when you find it.

Leave a Reply

