Its All I Have, Its All I Can Give

This is a picture created by one of my contacts from flickr. His name is Andrew and you can check out some more of his pictures here. I choose people as contacts, for the most part, if I think I can learn something from them whether it is through pictures or even through the words they say. Once they are my contact, I can easily keep up-to-date with new work they put up on flickr.

Looking at my contacts’ photos is one thing that I just love to do because I love seeing their growth! Its almost like watching an artist come up with the idea for a painting before he paints it, watching him paint it, and then seeing the final product. “How can looking at pictures relate to that?” you might ask. Well, my brother-in-law shared a story with me a while ago about Picasso. A woman approached him at a restaurant and asked him to draw something for her on a napkin. He quickly did and handed it to her saying that it would cost her $10,000. Surprised, the woman  asked why, since it only took him about 30 seconds to create it. He disagreed, telling her that it actually took 40 years to do that.

See, everything a person has learned up to a given point goes into each new creation. Every picture I take is a result of all the other pictures I have taken prior to that point. Because of this, I can see how past works of my contacts have led to this new creation of theirs. That is so cool to me! Anyways, that was a rabbit trail to what I was wanting to share.

Back to this picture, once I saw it right away I was really intrigued by it. I’m not sure why because I didn’t even understand what all was going on at first, but maybe that’s what drew me to it, I don’t know. Another thing that interested me was the lyrics Andrew put alongside the picture…

“Where do You find the love to offer he who betrays You?
and offer to wash my feet as I offer to disobey You,
Your beauty does bereave me, and how my words do fail,
so faithfully and dutifully I award You with betrayal

Jesus my heart is all I have to give to you, so weak and so unworthy,
this simply will not do, no alabaster jar, no diamond in the rough,
for Your body that was broken, how can this be enough?
by me You were abandoned, by me You were betrayed,
yet in Your arms and in Your heart forever I have stayed

Your glory illuminates my life, and no darkness will descend,
for You have loved me forever, and Your love will never end”

I just can’t get over the truth in these lyrics. Nothing we do can be enough to make up for Jesus’ broken body on the cross. I’ve been learning a lot about Jesus’ cross lately. And one thing that has helped me realize a fuller extent for what the cross is and how I should think of it is replacing the word “cross” with “execution”. When I read my Bible and read about the “cross” essentially I am reading about Jesus’ execution. Reading the Bible like this has made clear to me how I am saved and how I don’t deserve to be saved. This picture describes this so well because there is absolutely nothing we have to give to God that he doesn’t have besides our hearts. The beautiful, indescribable, undeserved love that God gives us  is something that is hard for us to make sense of simply because we cannot experience it apart from him. There is no love here on earth that can perfectly display God’s love that never fails. People will fail us. As long as we are here on this earth people will fail in their love and commitments. The only way we can know this unfailing love is when God’s love is in us and shown through us.

And we can’t earn it. We can’t pay him back. So what can we do?

Give him our hearts, our whole hearts. Because he alone deserves.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

