Word of the Day: Vitiate

Dictionary.com’s word of the day for today is vitiate. Not really sure why I wanted to check that… It’s defined as “to make faulty or imperfect; to render defective; to impair”.

Kind of a weird coincidence though because I’m having to do an extra credit interpretation on Doctor Faustus. It’s a (somewhat strange) story of a man who sells his soul to the devil in exchange for black magic powers…it’s interesting I guess. I read that and immediately thought, “well, that’s what happened to us”. We vitiated our relationship with God. Like Doctor Faustus, Adam and Eve were unsatisfied with the knowledge and capabilities that God had given them. So they looked upon Satan to advise them and for him to assure them of their actions. The only difference between Doctor Faustus and reality is that there is never a point (while we are still alive on this earth) when we are unable to call out for God’s redemption from this vitiation.

It amazes me in that aspect. God really knew what he was doing when he created us. He knew we would do this and he knew he would need to come up with a way to restore our connection with him. But he wanted us to have the freedom to choose him; thus, creating the possibility for the greatest love relationship with him that we could have. He said it himself through his servant John, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” Jesus is that greater love.

John 15:13

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Word of the Day: Vitiate

  1. Christy

    I am blown away girl! I have just spent the last half hour quickly glancing through your site…only quickly because it’s late and I was supposed to be on my way to folding laundry 🙂 You my sis have an amazing gift given by our God! I was so impressed by your shots and blessed by your blogs. I can’t wait till I have more time to sit and look and read more. Keep at it…love you!

  2. Theo

    Great blog!

    I love your photography and your writing.
    Stick with it.

  3. Susan

    I love this picture!

Leave a Reply

