Those moments you know will mean a lot more in short time

Yesterday I went fishing with my dad and Brianna. It was so great! We got the shrimp from the bait shop and headed out to find a good spot. It was pretty windy so we tried to find a spot that was a little calmer than everywhere else. First we tried out on the pier. Nothin. Then we tried down by the rocks. Still nothin. So then we stayed down by the rocks, but moved further down the way. At that point I was less focused on fishing and more focused on getting a good picture for the day. As I’m taking pictures of my dad and Brianna fishing, all of a sudden I hear them shouting that Brianna’s got a fish. I snap away as my dad reels in Brianna’s first fish as she cheers on the rocks below him.  Priceless.

It’s so strange because I know that no matter how much I imagine that I will miss moments like these, it will be different when it is for real. It is the one thing that makes me hesitant about moving away to college.

I read a quote yesterday that really hit me. It read, “When God aims us in a new direction, we have to let go of what we’ve known, be willing to embrace the unfamiliar, and trust that He will sustain us on the journey.” I love moments like these. I just cherish them and will so much for the rest of my life. But I can’t live in them. Living inside little moments like that blocks out the chance for others to happen. God has a plan for my life and he takes me through different seasons. Right now I am in a season of waiting and embracing. Those two may sound odd together but it’s true. I am waiting to know what direction God is calling me to after graduation. But in the meantime, I am fully embracing the times I have to be close with my family. I know that this season will not last forever, at least in the same way.

My joy is indescribable in moments like these…

This is the day the LORD has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it. -Psalm 118:24

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

